Pharmacies in the state of Kansas and those dispensing to Kansas patients from other locations must report to K-TRACS all schedule II, III and IV controlled substance prescriptions and drugs of concern that they dispense.

Effective November 1, 2023, K-TRACS will require pharmacies to change how, when and what they report. This is a result of changes to the Prescription Monitoring Program Act and program regulations. The changes include:

  • Reporting of prescriptions based on sold date instead of dispense date
  • Moving from 7-day zero reports to 1-day zero reports
  • Adoption of ASAP 4.2B standards
  • Collection of three additional data elements (species code, sold date and prescriber license number if no DEA/NPI is present)

Read the Reporting Requirement Guidance Document

Read the Updated Dispenser Guide

For questions, please contact K-TRACS at [email protected] or 785-296-6547.


Effective September 20, "X" DEA numbers will no longer be allowed to be submitted. Prescriptions with these prescriber identifiers used will result in errors that must be corrected by the pharmacy.

Effective November 1, all prescriber identifiers submitted to K-TRACS must pass validation against DEA, NPI and state license number databases. This ensures prescriptions are attributed to the correct prescriber. Placeholders and "dummy" identifiers will result in errors that must be corrected by the pharmacy.

  • All controlled substance prescriptions must contain a DEA number.
  • If an NPI number is unknown, leave the NPI blank instead of using zeroes or duplicating the DEA number.
  • If a DEA number is unknown for a non-controlled substance, leave the DEA blank and submit either a valid NPI for a human prescription or a valid state license number for a veterinarian.
  • State license numbers should only be submitted for veterinarians when they do not possess a DEA number.
  • Double check the prescriber identifier you are using to ensure it matches the prescriber on the prescription.

K-TRACS Reporting Changes


Drugs of concern required to be reported to K-TRACS include:

  • Any product containing all three of these drugs: butalbital, acetaminophen and caffeine
  • Any compound, mixture or preparation that contains any detectable quantity of ephedrine, its salts or optical isomers, or salts of optical isomers, and is exempt from being reported to NPLEx
  • Any compound mixure or preparation that contains any detectable quantity of pseudoephedrine, its salts or optical isomers, or salt of opical isomers, and is exempt from being reported to NPLEx
  • Promethazine with codeine
  • Any product, compound, mixture or preparation that contains gabapentin

Source: KAR 68-21-7


Pharmacy Reporting to K-TRACS


Dispensers may request exemptions from required K-TRACS reporting under certain circumstances as outlined in K.A.R. 68-21-2. All exemption requests must be submitted by pharmacists-in-charge (PICs) and are reviewed by K-TRACS staff. Dispensers will receive notice of approval or denial and must continue reporting to K-TRACS while waiting on a determination of exempt status. All renewals should be submitted online.

Exemptions must be renewed annually between August 1 and August 31. Pharmacists-in-charge (PICs) will receive email notification when the renewal period is open, and PICs must submit the renewal each year. Renewals are also required when:

  • The PIC changes. The new PIC will be required to re-certify exemption status for the pharmacy in addition to the BA-50 form submitted to the Board. Re-certifications as a result of PIC changes should use form K-10.
  • The pharmacy's registration number and/or DEA number and/or allowed schedules on its DEA permit change (for example, as a result of an ownership change). The PIC will be required to re-certify exemption status for the pharmacy after receiving the pharmacy's new registration number and/or DEA number.
  • The pharmacy acquires a DEA registration after initial registration with the state.

Dispensers that no longer meet the criteria for an exemption shall notify the Board and begin submitting dispensations and/or zero reports within 7 days. Board staff may revoke an exemption for a dispenser at any time or request an explanation for the exemption upon routine review of registered dispensers.


K-TRACS Exemption FAQs