Pharmacy Technicians

2017 Renewal

Pharmacy technicians expiring October 31, 2017 can renew online beginning Tuesday, September 5, 2017.

Renewal Instructions:

  • Go to the eLicense Portal
  • Under Existing Licensee Registration, click “Sign-Up” and create a username and password.
  • Login to your account and select “Renew License”.
  • Review and update information, answer the disciplinary questions, and submit the renewal.
  • Use the Board's secure online payment processing portal to pay $20 plus a small transaction fee by credit/debit card or electronic check, or follow the instructions to print and mail a $20 check or money order to the Board.
  • A confirmation email will be sent to you verifying receipt of payment.
  • Please allow 10 business days for processing your renewal.
  • Visit the Board's License Verification page to check for an updated expiration date.
Failure to renew by 11:59pm CST on October 31, 2017 will result in the registration being canceled. Canceled technicians will be required to complete a new application and fingerprint card to continue working ($67 cost).

Pharmacies utilizing/employing technicians with canceled registrations will be in violation of the Kansas Pharmacy Practice Act and may be disciplined by the Board.

Continuing Education for 2017 Renewal

If your Kansas pharmacy technician registration expires October 31, 2017, you will need to have completed 10 hours of Continuing Education before you renew. Those 10 hours must have been earned between September 1, 2015 and the day you renew in 2017.

The CE you complete may be approved for pharmacists or pharmacy technicians, or may be earned for national certification. However, all CE must be approved by one of the following:

  1. ACPE. To receive credit, register for the CPE Monitor.
  2. Another state Board of Pharmacy. To receive credit, submit a copy of your certificate of completion to the Kansas Board within 30 days of course completion.
  3. The Kansas Board of Pharmacy. To get CE approval from the Kansas Board, submit a request for approval to the Board at least 10 days prior to the course using the E-200 Request Form. A list of pre-approved Kansas CE courses is also available on the Board website. To receive credit, submit a copy of your certificate of completion to the Kansas Board within 30 days of course completion.
If your Kansas pharmacy technician registration expires October 31, 2018, you will need to have completed 20 hours of Continuing Education (or the prorated amount of CE based on the issue date and expiration date of your technician registration). This CE will need to have been earned between September 1, 2016 and the date of renewal.

 

Technician Registration & Renewal

Registration Application

ORDER A TECHNICIAN APPLICATION AND FINGERPRINT CARD:
   Tech App and Fingerprint Card Order Form

  • If you are working as a Pharmacy Technician in Kansas, you must be registered with the Kansas Board of Pharmacy.
  • Registration fee $67.00
  • Please allow 10 business days to receive your ordered application and fingerprint card.
  • Please allow 3 weeks for the Board to process a complete technician application. Missing items, incomplete applications, criminal history, and other items cause significant delays.
  • No exam or certification is required for registration with the Board.
  • Only one registration is required even if you work for multiple pharmacies or change jobs. You will keep the same registration number forever.  If you have your registration card and you begin working for another pharmacy, simply give them your registration number, so they do not have you fill out another application or take the test again.

 

Renewal of Registration

You must renew your registration every two years. If the expiration date on your license is October 31 of the current year, you will renew this year between mid-September and October 31. If your expiration date is October 31 of next year, you will renew next year.

The renewal fee is $20.00 and you do not need to take a test to renew.  You can renew online through the eLicensing portal, which is available on the Board website. The renewal form is not the same as the original application, so do not fill out an application if you are renewing your registration. If you let your existing registration expire, you will be required to complete a new application.

You should receive a renewal notice from the Board to remind you to renew. It is important to notify the Board Office when you move, with your new address so you can get your renewal reminder! The Board will only send out renewal notices to those persons who are up for renewal.  If you believe that you are due to renew and you do not receive a notice, you may contact the Board Office via e-mail. Before contacting the Board Office, please check to ensure that your license registration is due to expire this year. You will not receive a notice if it is not your year to renew.

2017 Renewal Frequently Asked Questions

Can I renew online?

Yes. Between September 5 and October 31, you can complete your renewal application and make payment online 24 hours a day, seven days a week from any location with Internet access. It only takes a few minutes and you will receive a confirmation when you finish, so you will know your renewal is complete. In most instances, your new registration is mailed within 10 business days after you submit the online renewal. Your renewal information will be available on our License Verification Database as soon as it is processed by the Board office.

Do I have to pay my renewal fee online?

No. You can print your renewal (after completed online) and mail it along with a check or money order made payable to the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy.

Can I pay my renewal fee online?

Yes. You can pay online using a credit/debit card (a 2.5% transaction fee will be assessed), or an electronic check (a $1.25 transaction fee will be added).

Do I need to take a test to renew?

No. However, if you first registered as a pharmacy technician after July 1, 2017, you will be required to successfully pass a pharmacy technician certification exam approved by the Board before your first renewal.

When does my pharmacy technician registration expire?

There is no grace period for renewals. Registrations expire on the date printed on the registration. Expiration dates are also provided on the Board’s website under the license verification link.

Do I need any continuing education (CE) hours before I can renew?

Yes, 10 hours of CE are required to renew your pharmacy technician registration in 2017. For future renewals, 20 hours will be required.

 When does my renewal have to be received by the Board office?

There is NO grace period for renewals. Renewal applications must be hand-delivered, postmarked, or electronically time-stamped on or before the expiration date of the registration. All other renewals will be considered late and the registration will expire. You will then be required to complete a new application and fingerprint card (cost is $67). You cannot work without a current registration.

 Can I renew my registration after it has expired?

No. Renewal applications hand-delivered, postmarked, or electronically time-stamped after the expiration date are considered late and the registration will expire. You will then be required to complete a new application and fingerprint card (cost is $67). You cannot work without a current registration..

Do I have to answer disciplinary questions for my entire criminal history?

No. Answer the disciplinary questions for the time period since your last renewal (or from your initial application if you registered in the past two years). If you answer "yes" to a disciplinary question, you should also complete and submit/upload the S-150 Form.

Does the Board review the answers to the disciplinary history questions?

Yes. All renewal applications are reviewed. If you answer "yes" to a disciplinary question, you should also complete and submit/upload the S-150 Form.

Helpful Forms and Links

Use the following applications on our Forms Page:

S-100 Background Check
S-150 Personal History

LA-40 Change in Name or Contact Info Form
LA-50 Change in Employment Form
LA-80 Duplicate Pocket Card Application

LA-70 Technician - Reinstatement after Revocation
If your pharmacy technician registration has been revoked by the Kansas Board of Pharmacy, you must wait a minimum of one year from the date of revocation before applying for reinstatement.