

NEWSLETTER

Compliance | Licensing & Registration | K-TRACS

Vol. 43 | Issue 5 | September 2024

What's Inside:

Board, K-TRACS launch new websites	2	Tianeptine Added as Controlled Substance	3
Compliance Corner	5	Revocations & Suspensions	6

Pharmacy Technician Examination, CE, and Renewal

Continuing Education:

All Kansas pharmacy technician registrations expiring October 31, 2024, must complete 20 hours of ACPE/Board approved continuing education before their renewal. The 20 hours must be earned between **November 1, 2022 - October 31, 2024**.

Renewal:

Pharmacy Technicians expiring October 31, 2024, can renew online beginning in mid-September. Renewal instructions:

- Go to http://ksbop.elicensesoftware.com/portal logon.aspx
 - New Users: Click "Sign-Up" and create a username and password
- Log in and select "Renew License"
- Review and update information, certify completion of the required continuing education hours, answer disciplinary questions, and submit the renewal.
- Use the secure online payment portal to pay \$20 plus a small transaction fee by credit/debit card or electronic check.
- Visit the <u>License Verification</u> page to check for an updated expiration date.

Failing to renew on or before 11:59pm CST October 31, 2024, will result in the registration being cancelled.

Cancelled technicians cannot work and will be required to complete a new application and fingerprint card to continue working (\$77.00 cost). Technicians will be required to pass a technician certification exam, if previously registered, at the time of application.

Pharmacies utilizing/employing technicians with cancelled registrations will be in violation of the Kansas Pharmacy Practice Act and may be disciplined by the Board.

Exam Extension Requests

Any pharmacy technician who is unable to take or pass the PTCB or ExCPT certification exam by October 31, 2024, may request a six-month extension before the technician's registration expiration date by completing a Technician Certification Extension Request Form (LA-75).

Board, K-TRACS launch new websites

The Board of Pharmacy and K-TRACS have launched new websites as of September 12, 2024. The websites are now both mobile responsive and contain valuable information for pharmacists, technicians, businesses and facilities. Among the highlights of the new Board site:

- **Search disciplinary action:** Find individual and/or facility disciplinary action quickly by searching for the name or license/registration number.
- Board events: More easily view upcoming Board meetings and agendas
- Forms by category: All Board applications and forms are better organized by category

The K-TRACS website contains additional information for pharmacists related to reporting requirements and continuing education.

Bookmark these links to go directly to each site:

- Board of Pharmacy: https://www.pharmacy.ks.gov/
- K-TRACS: https://www.ktracs.ks.gov/

Please note: Bookmarks will not change for the Board's license and inspection portal, license verification system or license renewal portal.

If you do not see a difference in the websites, try clearing your browser cache, doing a hard refresh of the website or using an incognito browser. It may take time for the new sites to promulgate for all users.

Board Seeks Feedback on Protocol Use

The Board is seeking pharmacist feedback on use of the Statewide Emergency Opioid Antagonist (EOA) Protocol. The survey linked below is anonymous. No license number or pharmacy location information will be collected.

Only <u>pharmacists working in Kansas</u> should complete the survey (and only submit one response). Please do not forward the link to other pharmacy personnel. The survey should take less than 5 minutes to complete. The Board appreciates your feedback on this critical topic.

Complete the Survey

Announcements

- Effective July 1, 2024, the fee for fingerprint-based background checks increased to \$57.
- Adverse Event Reporting: Health professionals, consumers, and patients can voluntarily report
 observed or suspected adverse events for human medical products to the FDA. Voluntary reporting
 can help FDA identify unknown risk for approved medical products. For more information, visit
 MedWatch Online Voluntary Reporting Form (fda.gov).
- Updates to the Board's "Laws and Regulations" are available on the Board website.

Tianeptine Added as Controlled Substance in Kansas

Effective July 1, 2024, tianeptine became a Schedule I controlled substance in Kansas following adoption of House Bill 2547 during the 2024 legislative session.

Tianeptine is not approved by the FDA for any medical use in the U.S. but has been approved to treat anxiety and depression in other countries. According to the DEA, tianeptine is abused for its euphoric properties similar to other opioids such as heroin. It is known, among other nicknames, as "gas station heroin" and is often marketed illegally in the U.S. through online marketplaces and small retail stores.

This drug is not federally scheduled but has been added to state controlled substance schedules in multiple states, including to Schedule I in Kansas this year.

Resources:

- <u>Tianeptine Products Linked to Serious Harm, Overdoses, Death | FDA</u>
- DEA Brief on Tianeptine, February 2024
- <u>Tianeptine, an Antidepressant with Opioid Agonist Effects: Pharmacology and Abuse Potential, a</u> Narrative Review - PMC (nih.gov)

DEA Drug Take Back Day Scheduled for October 26

The next DEA Drug Take Back Day will be Saturday, October 26, 2024. During the last event in April, 80 participating Kansas takeback sites collected 7,973 pounds of unused prescriptions. To learn more about partnering with law enforcement agencies to participate in these events or to locate an event near you, visit the DEA's website.

Continuing Education



To comply with K.A.R. 68-1-1b, all pharmacists renewing their license by June 30, 2025, will be required to complete 1 hour of continuing education designated by the Board as part of their 30-hour requirement for renewal. The course currently designated by the Board is titled "K-TRACS for Pharmacies: Good Data In, Good Data Out." It is self-paced, available online and focuses on K-TRACS reporting requirements and use of patient prescription history in clinical decision-making.

The course is available for 1 hour of ACPE credit for both pharmacists and technicians. Note: There is no Kansas regulatory requirement for technicians to complete the course. Enroll in the course now.

The Kansas State Board of Pharmacy has collaborated with the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education to award continuing pharmacy education credit for this activity: UAN KS7002-0000-23-001-H03-P and UAN KS7002-0000-23-001-H03-T (1.0 contact hours, knowledge-based activity).

Beginning with the 2026/2027 renewal cycle, new designated CE courses will be provided in Board of Pharmacy newsletters. Please check back in future newsletters for additional information.

New DEA Resource Alerts Pharmacists to Prescription Fraud

Pharmacists are often the first line of defense in detecting prescription fraud. Often, criminals will use fake prescriptions to obtain controlled substances and then sell them on the streets.

The abuse of prescription drugs – especially controlled substances – is a serious social and health problem in the United States today.

Everyone has a role to play to keep our communities healthy and safe. Healthcare professionals share responsibility for solving the prescription drug abuse and diversion problem.

For more information, read the Pharmacist's Guide to Prescription Fraud.

Compliance Corner

☐ Single-sheet DEA Form 222

Effective October 30, 2019, the DEA switched from the triplicate DEA Form 222 to a single-sheet format. The DEA established a transition period where either version of the form would be accepted, and after this period the triplicate forms would no longer be valid. This transition period ended October 30, 2021, but Board inspectors are still finding facilities that are using the old triplicate forms for transfers of schedule II substances between pharmacies. Please make sure all purchases and transfers of CII substances are being made using the single-sheet DEA Form 222.

□ Automation in Long Term Care Facilities (LTCF)

Before automation can be installed in any LTCF (as defined by K.S.A. 39-923) the Kansas Board of Pharmacy must be notified using the form BA-21. [K.A.R. 69-7-10]

Automation includes <u>any</u> robotic, mechanical, or computerized device used to supply a drug for administration to a resident of the facility. The automation and the drugs it contains are owned and maintained by a managing pharmacy. The managing pharmacy MUST be located in Kansas. [K.A.R. 68-9-3(a)(3)]. If controlled substances will be placed in the automation, a DEA registration must be obtained for the automation. [K.A.R.68-9-3(b)(2)]

If the managing pharmacy desires to use automation only as an e-kit, the above is still applicable to the pharmacy and facility.

□ Are your facility's email addresses current?

Email addresses are used by the Board as a means of official communication with a facility. The Board requests two email addresses from a facility. The license contact email should be the point of contact for registration issues such as renewal reminders, application questions, payments, etc. The physical address contact email should provide a way for the Board to reach someone located at the registered premises of the facility. These email addresses are available for review and update during the facility's annual registration renewal. At other times of the year, you may send email updates to pharmacy@ks.gov. Please be sure to include your facility registration number and indicate which email address(es) you are updating.

□ Changes to Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)

A regulation change approved by the Board in July has changed the CQI process. More detailed information on the new process and what it should look like will be provided in the November newsletter. To allow time for pharmacies to update their CQI procedures, the implementation date of the new CQI process will be February 1, 2025, with one exception. The exception to the delayed implementation is the element of the pharmacist-in charge (or their designee) communicating with each employee involved in an incident within 30 days and documenting when communication with each employee occurred and who performed the communication. This piece needs to be implemented immediately.

Until February 1, 2025, each pharmacist-in-charge may choose which CQI process they wish to use in the pharmacy. You may choose to continue to use the old format with the communication exception piece added in,

or you may choose to move entirely to the new format. Beginning February 1, 2025, pharmacies will be inspected in accordance with the new CQI requirements.

□ Personnel in the Pharmacy

No individual that has had a license or registration denied, revoked, or suspended by the Board is permitted in the pharmacy unless the licensee or registrant has subsequently been issued an active license or registration by the Board. [K.A.R. 68-2-24(e)].

National News

Read the latest news from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy >> Read National News

Revoked Licenses & Registrations

In an effort to provide greater transparency to pharmacists, the Board will publish a list of revocations and suspensions against Kansas pharmacists, interns, and technicians in its quarterly Newsletter. The Board encourages the pharmacist-in-charge to verify the registration status of all employed technicians at least twice a year (June and November are recommended). The Board's license verification website is a secure and primary source of credential verification information, as authentic as a direct inquiry to the Board.

Please take notice of the Board's revocation action taken on these licenses, permits, and registrations:

- Bolin, Dylann, 14-115204, Case 24-048
- Chase, Haley, 14-116309, Case 24-059
- Davenport, Jeffrey, 24-117041, Case 24-256
- DePriest, Stephanie, 14-17409, Case 24-061
- Ellison, Cynthia, 14-08321, Case 24-066
- Flores-Acosta, 24-119057, Case 24-228
- Hawk, Sandra, 14-10097, Case 24-074
- Jeffiers, Leah, 14-115150, Case 24-085
- Kelly, JamiAnn, 14-114490, Case 24-089
- Mian, Saira, 14-104017, Case 24-102
- Smith, Janelle, 1-13421, Case 24-261
- Starling, Pamela, 14-08795, Case 24-123
- Warf, Victoria, 14-115892, Case 24-131
- Young, Breana, 24-119329, Case 24-244

Please take notice of the Board's suspension action taken on these licenses, permits, and registrations:

Storey-Hierl, Janet, 1-10656, Case 24-037