Kansas Board of Pharmacy 800 SW Jackson St., Ste 1414 Topeka, KS 66612-1244

LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION OR SCORE TRANSFER - Updated 06/2024

License candidates by examination or score transfer must fill out a Kansas Licensure Application. The application is on the Kansas Board of Pharmacy web site at www.pharmacy.ks.gov. Under the link for "Licensing & Registration," select the "Forms" option. The application is LA-01E Pharmacist by Exam. This is for applicants who will be taking the NAPLEX or are score transferring their NAPLEX to Kansas and are taking the Kansas edition of the MPJE. Generally, the application is for new graduates from pharmacy school or foreign educated graduates.

The application requires a \$100.00 check or money order made payable to the Board of Pharmacy as well as an additional \$57 plus a completed FD-258 Fingerprint Card and S-100 Background Check form if you have not been fingerprinted for the Kansas Board of Pharmacy previously. The fingerprint card can be printed from the website or you can request one using the form available on the website. In addition, you will need to attach a copy of your driver's license, a head & shoulders photo taken within the past 60 days, and proof of one year of pharmaceutical experience from your School of Pharmacy or State board in the form of at least 1740 intern hours. If you received your Intern Hours from another state, you must have the Board of Pharmacy from that state transfer your hours to Kansas.

To register for the Kansas MPJE or the NAPLEX, go to the NABP web site at www.nabp.pharmacy and click on the individual test link on the main page. Sign up to take the NAPLEX and the MPJE for Kansas. Download the NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin from NABP for the most accurate, updated information about the tests.

Kansas Statues & Regulations for study purposes can be found on the Kansas web site at www.pharmacy.ks.gov under the link titled "Statutes and Regulations". These can be downloaded.

In order to receive an Authorization To Test (ATT) number, you must be registered for the tests through NABP AND the Kansas State Board must have received your complete Pharmacist by Exam application. Once that is done, the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy will approve you to test through NABP. You will then receive your ATT number from Pearson Vue (NABP's testing vendor). That number is then used to schedule your MPJE and NAPLEX. Pearson Vue locations and scheduling can be found at www.pearsonvue.com/nabp.

Results of the NAPLEX and MPJE examinations for candidates seeking licensure will be provided by NABP and the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy will send a copy of the results when licensure is completed. Scores are listed according to the Candidate's Testing ID number, which is assigned by the NABP testing administrator. Candidates need to write down the ATT number as the ATT is retained by the testing center. Scores are released to the boards anywhere between two to ten business days from the date the candidate sat for the exam. Scores will not be given out over the phone. Do not lose your ATT number. The Board does not have access to that information. If you do not pass the MPJE you must wait a minimum of 30 days to retake the examination. If you do not pass the NAPLEX you must

wait a minimum of 45 days to retake the examination. You must go to the NABP web site and sign up to retake those tests if you do not pass. The NABP web site has additional information in the Registration Bulletin.

If you have any questions regarding licensure by examination/score transfer, contact the Board at pharmacy@ks.gov.

CHECKLIST FOR LICENSE BY EXAMINATION/SCORE TRANSFER

- 1. Go to the Board of Pharmacy website at www.pharmacy.ks.gov
- 2. Go to Licensing & Registration and click on Forms.
- 3. Download and complete the LA-01 Pharmacist by Exam.
- 4. Complete and attach the S-100 form and a FD-258 fingerprint card. If you were previously registered as an intern or technician in Kansas and submitted fingerprints for a background check, please contact the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy at pharmacy@ks.gov to see if you are eligible for a waiver.
- 5. Mail the application along with a check for \$157.
- 6. A copy of your current driver's license or government-issued photo ID.
- 7. A head & shoulders photo of yourself no more than 60 days old.
- 8. Proof of one year of pharmaceutical experience from your School of Pharmacy or State board in the form of at least 1740 intern hours. If you received your Intern Hours from another state, you must have the Board of Pharmacy from that state transfer your hours to Kansas (not required for graduates of KU or UMKC).
- 9. If you plan to administer immunizations, submit a copy of your immunization certification and provide the expiration date your CPR (Must be approved by the accreditation council for pharmacy.)
- 10. If you answered 'yes' to any of the disciplinary questions on page 3 of the application, you must submit a completed S-150 Personal History form which is available on our website.
- 11. Make sure the school has completed page 4 including their seal.
- 12. Mail the application and all supplemental materials to:

Kansas State Board of Pharmacy

800 SW Jackson, Ste 1414

Topeka, Kansas 66612

- 13. Register for the NAPLEX and Kansas MPJE at www.nabp.pharmacy.
- 14. Once Kansas has received your complete application, we will approve you to test.
- 15. Pearson Vue will send you your ATT number.
- 16. If you change your name or address while your application is pending, please update it using the LA-40 Change of Name or Contact information form available from our website.

The Board of Pharmacy will not process an incomplete application. If you have not provided all items you will not be approved to test. You can check your MPJE and NAPLEX scores on the NABP website. We cannot give scores over the phone or email. It takes a minimum of 4-7 days before we receive your test scores.

If you have any questions, contact the Board of Pharmacy at pharmacy@ks.gov.