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In The Matter Of )
) Case No. 14-085
MORRIS COUNTY HOSPITAL )
Registration No. 2-06245 )
)
FINAL AGENCY ORDER

On October 17, 2014, the Kansas Board of Pharmacy (the “Board”) held a hearing on the
allegation that Morris County Hospital (“MCII”) operated its pharmacy without a Pharmacist-in-
Charge for period in excess of 30 days and thereby subjecting its registration to discipline
pursuant to K.A.R. 68-1-2a(b). MCH appeared by its representative Kristie Hayes, RN, Randail
J. Forbes of Frieden, Unrein & Forbes, LLP appeared as the Board’s Disciplinary Counsel. After
considering the evidence admitted at the hearing, the Board enters the following final agency
order.

L FINDING OF FACT

. The Board is the Kansas agency vested with the authority to carry out and enforce
the provisions of the Kansas Pharmacy Act, K.S.A. 65-1626 er seq. (“Act”), including
conducting hearings and proceedings to revoke, suspend, limit or otherwise discipline a Kansas
registration to operate a pharmacy in the State of Kansas and imposing a civil penalty pursuant to
K.S.A. 65-1658.

2. MCH is presently entitled to engage in the operation of a pharmacy at 600 N.
Washington, Council Grove, Kansas by reason of the Board having issued it Kansas registration

number 2-06245.



3. On August 16, 2013, Daniel Neil, R.Ph. (“Neil”) was the designated Pharmacist-
in Charge (“PIC”) for MCH. On that date, Neil advised the CEO of MCH that he was resigning
his position as PIC effective September 28, 2013.

4. On December 23, 2013, the Board received an application from MCH to change
the designation of MCH’s PIC to Constance Aldrich, R.Ph.,

5. Between September 28, 2013 and December 23, 2013, a period of 86 days, MCH
operated a pharmacy without a designated PIC.,

IL CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND FACT

L. Pursuant to K.S.A, 65-1663(e)(1) the Board may take disciplinary action, against
the registration of a pharmacy if the pharmacy has been operated in a manner that violates the
provisions of the Act or the rules and regulations of the Board.

2. Pursuant to 65-1637, each operating pharmacy must have a designated PIC.

3. Pursuant to K.A.R. 68-1-2a, a pharmacy that operates for more than 30 days
without a designated PIC shall be deemed to have violated K.S.A. 65-1627(e).

4, MCH operated for a period of 56 days without a designated PIC in violation of
the Act and the Board’s regulations,

1if. FINAL ORDER

Based upon the evidence introduced at the hearing held October 17, 2014 and the
foregoing findings and conclusions, MCH is accessed a civil penalty in the amount of $2,120.00.

Within fifteen (15) days after service of this Final Agency Order, either party may file a

petition for reconsideration pursuant to K.S.A. 77-529.



Within the time limits established in K.S.A. 77-613, either party may seck judicial review
of this Final Agency Order, pursuant to said statute. The agency officer designated to receive
service of a petition for judicial review is:

Debra Billingsley
Executive Director

Kansas Board of Pharmacy
800 Jackson, Suite 1414
Topeka, KS 66612

IT IS SO ORDERED,
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Date 1R/ BOB HANEKE
President
Kansas Board of Pharmacy




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that [ did, on the 3/ day of C/‘mﬁé’{,} , 2014, deposit in
the United States mail, postage prepaid, a copy of the foregoing FINAL. AGENCY ORDER,
properly addressed to the following:

Morris County Hospital
600 N. Washington
Council Grove, KS 66846

Randall J. Forbes

FRIEDEN, UNREIN & FORBES, LLP
1414 SW Ashworth Pl., Ste 201
Topeka, KS 66604
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Debra Billingsley ¢
Executive Director
Kansas Board of Pharmacy




