



Phone: (785) 296-4056 Fax: (785) 296-8420 pharmacy@ks.gov www.pharmacy.ks.gov

Alexandra Blasi, Executive Secretary

Laura Kelly, Governor

December 13, 2019

AMY PANCAKE 475 CHANTENAY PLACE JOHNS CREEK GA 30022

RE: In the Matter of Amy Pancake

Case No. 19-581

Dear Amy Pancake:

The Kansas State Board of Pharmacy has concluded its audit of continuing education for your recent renewal and determined that you are noncompliant. Please read the enclosed Summary Order in its entirety, which includes assessment of a fine and mandatory additional continuing education. This discipline will be reported to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and all future license verifications will reflect this discipline.

If you disagree with the findings of fact, you have the right to request a hearing. Instructions for filing a written request are included under the "Notices" section of the order. Hearings are held before the full Board during their regularly scheduled quarterly meetings.

According to KSA 65-1627h, the Board is required to recoup the costs of administrative hearings when the decision is adverse to the licensee. These costs may include charges for services rendered by the Board's disciplinary counsel, an administrative law judge, and, if applicable, a court reporter.

If you have questions, please email <u>pharmacy.compliance@ks.gov</u> and reference your case number.

Sincerely,

Kansas State Board of Pharmacy

enc: Summary Order

## BEFORE THE KANSAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

In the Matter of	)	
the Renewal Application of	)	
	)	Case No. 19-581
Amy Pancake	)	
License No. 1-104680	)	
	)	

#### **SUMMARY ORDER**

**NOW** on December 13, 2019, comes before the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy through its Executive Secretary (hereinafter referred to as the "Board") the matter of the license renewal application of Amy Pancake (hereinafter referred to as "Respondent") to engage in the practice of pharmacy in the state of Kansas.

Pursuant to the authority granted to the Board by the Kansas Pharmacy Act, K.S.A. 65-1625, *et seq.*, and in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act, K.S.A. 77-501, *et seq.*, the Board enters this Summary Order in the above-captioned matter. After reviewing the renewal materials and being otherwise duly advised in the premises, the Board makes the following findings, conclusions, and order:

#### FINDINGS OF FACT

- 1. On or around 6/20/2019, Respondent submitted a renewal application to engage in the practice of pharmacy in the State of Kansas.
- 2. In the renewal application, Respondent requested to renew the license on active status.
- 3. At the end of the renewal application, Respondent agreed to the following statement prior to submitting the completed renewal application: "I hereby attest that I have completed all continuing education hours required by law to renew my license."

- 4. Respondent's renewal application was selected for an audit to provide proof of Respondent's continuing education certificates or a transcript of completion of required hours.
- 5. Respondent provided proof of 8 hours of continuing education to renew Respondent's pharmacy license.
- 6. Since Respondent was licensed for less than the entire biennial licensure period, Respondent was eligible for obtaining prorated hours and only required 22.5 hours of continuing education for renewal.

### CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

- 7. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(9), the Board may deny, revoke, suspend, or place on probation any pharmacist license upon a finding that Respondent failed to comply with the continuing education requirements of the Board for license renewal.
- 8. Pursuant to K.A.R. 68-1-1b, 30 hours of continuing education shall be required for renewal of a pharmacist license during each licensure period, which must be obtained in the two-year licensure period ending on the June 30 expiration date of each license. However, K.S.A. 65-1632(d) provides that continuing education hours may be prorated for licensure periods which are less than biennial.
- 9. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(1), the Board may deny, revoke, suspend, or place on probation any pharmacist license upon a finding that Respondent renewed or attempted to renew a license by false means, including misrepresentation.
- 10. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1658, in addition to any other penalty imposed by the Pharmacy Practice Act, the Board may assess a civil fine for a violation of K.S.A. 65-1627(a), in an amount not to exceed \$5,000 for each violation.
- 11. Respondent was required to provide proof of completion of 22.5 hours of continuing education earned between December 21, 2017 and June 30, 2019.

- 12. By only providing proof of completion of 8 hours of continuing education, Respondent failed to complete the required 22.5 hours of continuing education for renewal of Respondent's license, in violation of K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(9).
- 13. Respondent falsely attested on the renewal application that Respondent had completed all continuing education hours required by law to renew Respondent's license, in violation of K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(1). Though material, the Board makes <u>no finding</u> about whether Respondent's misrepresentation was intentional.
- 14. The role of the Board is to protect the citizens of Kansas. The Board regards the failure to comply with the continuing education requirements for licensure as a serious issue. Given the number of home-study, web-based, and live programs available, achieving the hours required each biennial renewal period cannot be viewed as a burden. Without continued investment in pharmacy education, the vision of quality pharmacy providers in Kansas will not be met. In order to provide safe, effective, and high quality healthcare for Kansas patients, the practice of pharmacy requires lifelong improvement and education.

## **ORDER**

Based on the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, the Board orders the following:

For Respondent's violation of K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(1) and (9), a fine is assessed in the amount of \$100 for each hour of missing or falsified continuing education, with a minimum of \$500. Respondent is ordered to pay the \$1500 fine by check or money order within 30 days of the date of this Order.

Furthermore, an additional four hours of continuing education will be required for each hour of missing or falsified continuing education. Respondent shall complete 58 hours of additional continuing education and provide proof of completion to the Board within 30 days of the date of this Order. Completion of these hours shall not count toward Respondent's next continuing

education renewal requirement.

**NOTICES** 

Respondent is hereby notified as follows:

1. The Respondent may request a hearing pursuant to the Kansas Administrative

Procedure Act by filing a written request with the Kansas Board of Pharmacy, 800 SW Jackson, Suite

1414, Topeka, KS 66612-1231 within fifteen (15) days after service of this order.

1. If a hearing is not requested as described above, the Order shall become a final order

of the Board, effective upon the expiration of the time to request a hearing.

2. Within fifteen (15) days after entry of a final agency order, either party may file a

petition for reconsideration pursuant to K.S.A. 77-529.

3. Within the time limits established in K.S.A. 77-613, either party may seek judicial

review of a final agency order, pursuant to said statute. The agency officer designated to receive

service of a petition for judicial review is:

Alexandra Blasi

**Executive Secretary** 

Kansas Board of Pharmacy

800 SW Jackson, Suite 1414

Topeka, KS 66612

IT IS SO ORDERED.

December 13, 2019\_

Date

Clay blen Executive Secretary

5

# **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I hereby certify that I did, on December 13, 2019, deposit in business mail a copy of the foregoing Summary Order, which is then placed in the United States Mail, postage prepaid, properly addressed to the following:

AMY PANCAKE 475 CHANTENAY PLACE JOHNS CREEK GA 30022

Kansas Board of Pharmacy Staff