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FINAL ORDER

Statement of Case

This matter comes before the Kansas Board of Pharmacy (Board) on the Summary
Order to assess a civil penalty against the respondent, John Kollhoff, PharmD, in the
amount of $2,100.00 and require completion of 84 hours of additional continuing
education (CE).

The hearing in this matter was held on April 20, 2016. Appearing for the Board
were: President, Chad Ullom, R.Ph.; Vice President, John Worden, PharmD; and
members, Robert Haneke, PharmD; James Garrelts, PharmD; and David Schoech, R.Ph.
Randall J. Forbes appeared as the Board’s disciplinary counsel. The respondent appeared
pro se. Dr. Worden recused. Board member, Cheri Pugh, while not in attendance at the
hearing, has also recused.

During the hearing, the respondent argued that the June 30, 2015 deadline for
completing 30 hours of continuing education is not legally binding and that he complied
with all continuing education requirements prior to August 1, 2015, which he
characterized as the proper deadline for completion of continuing education hours and

license renewal.



The parties were afforded an opportunity to submit briefs on their respective
positions regarding these issues. The parties timely submitted their briefs.
The ruling of the Board is as follows.

Findings of Fact

The respondent was initially issued a biennial license to practice pharmacy in the
State of Kansas by the Board in July 2005.

Prior to the respondent’s submission of the renewal application now at issue, the
respondent had renewed this biennial license on four previous occasions.

On July 28, 2015, the respondent submitted an online license renewal application
to the Board to engage in the practice of pharmacy in the State of Kansas.

On the renewal application, the respondent certified that he completed three
continuing education (CE) units or thirty clock hours of continuing education activities
between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2015.

Based on the representations of the respondent in his renewal application, the
Board renewed his license to practice for the next biennial licensing period, through June
30, 2017.

On or before October 1, 2015, the respondent was selected for an audit of the
continuing education hours he had certified as being completed between July 1, 2013 and
June 30, 2015. The respondent was directed to furnish the Board with proof of his
continuing education certificates or to provide a transcript of completion of required

continuing education hours.



The respondent provided the Board with a CPE Monitor Activity Transcript for
the period August 1, 2013 through July 31, 2015 documenting his completion of 31.5
clock hours of continuing education from October 29, 2014 through July 28, 2015. The
respondent’s submission reflected completion of only 3.5 clock hours of continuing
education during the biennial licensure period from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2015.
However, the Board found that the appropriate CPE monitor record showed a total of 9.5
hours of CE completed during the audited renewal period of July 1, 2013 and June 30,
20138;

On or about December 16, 2015, the respondent was served with the Summary
Order dated December 16, 2015. In relevant part, the Summary Order assessed a fine
against the respondent in the amount of $2,100 ($100 for each hour or partial hour of
continuing education not completed by June 30, 2015) and required him to complete 84
additional hours of continuing education (4 hours for each hour or partial hour not
completed by June 30, 2015) within thirty days or his license would be placed on inactive
status.

The respondent timely requested a hearing.

Applicable Law
and

Discussion
K.S.A. 65-1632(a) provides:

Except as otherwise provided in this section, each license to practice
as a pharmacist issued by the board, shall expire every two years. . .
Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the application,
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when accompanied by the renewal fee and received by the executive
secretary of the board on or before the date of the expiration of
the license, shall have the effect of temporarily renewing the
applicant’s license until actual issuance or denial of the renewal.
(Emphasis added.)

Accordingly, a license issued by the Board with an effective date of July 1%
expires as a matter of law upon the close of June 30" two years later.

The Board concurs with the disciplinary counsel that because the respondent did
not submit his renewal application or the renewal fee to the Board until July 28, 2015, the
respondent’s license expired, as a matter of law, on June 30, 2015, and it was not
temporarily renewed pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 65-1632(a). As suggested by
the disciplinary counsel, the Board could have denied the respondent’s rencwal
application as untimely, informed him that his authority to practice pharmacy had lapsed
by operation of law, ordered him to cease and desist the practice of pharmacy, required
him to submit an application for license reinstatement, and taken other adverse action.

However, the Board approved the respondent’s renewal application as though he
had timely submitted it and the renewal fee prior to license expiration on June 30, 2015.
In addition, the Board also relied on the truth of the respondent’s certification that he had
completed the hours of continuing education required by law to maintain licensure (i.e.,
30 clock hours during the licensure period from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2015 as
required by K.A.R. 68-1-1b(a)-(b)).

It was only after the CE audit that the Board became aware that the respondent’s

certification of continuing education compliance was false thus prompting the issuance of
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the Summary Order now at issue.

The Board finds that by providing false certification that he completed the 30
hours of continuing education by June 30, 2015, the respondent was able to obtain the
unauthorized renewal of his biennial license. Such misconduct is clearly grounds for
disciplinary action under several provisions of the Kansas Pharmacy Act (KPA), K.S.A.
65-1625 et seq., including but not limited to: K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(1) (obtaining a license
by fraudulent means); K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(8) (violating any provision of the KPA or any
implementing rule and regulation adopted by the Board); and K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(9)
(noncompliance with the requirements of the board relating to the continuing education
of pharmacists).

The respondent argues that the Board’s action improperly relies on an
unenforceable statement of policy or opinion rather than law.

K.A.R. 68-1-1b provides that completion of 30 clock hours of approved
continuing education “during the licensure period” is required for renewal of any biennial
license to practice pharmacy in this State. Pursuant to authority conferred by K.S.A. 65-
1630 and 65-1632(d), the Board promulgated K.A.R. 68-1-1b to carry out the legislative
policy expressed in K.S.A. 65-1632. This regulation accordingly has the force and effect
of law. See Murphy v. Nelson, 260 Kan. 589, 595, 921 P.2d 1225 (1996); Tew v. Topeka
Police & Fire Civ. Serv. Comm'n, 237 Kan. 96, 100, 697 P.2d 1279 (1985); Carpenter v.

Johnson, 231 Kan. 783, 789, 649 P.2d 400 (1982).



Contrary to the respondent’s arguments, the completion of all prescribed hours of
continuing education during the licensure period is a legally binding and enforceable
prerequisite to license renewal in this State.

The undisputed evidence establishes that the respondent did not satisfy these
continuing education requirements and that he obtained renewal of his license, in material
part, by misrepresenting to the Board that he had done so.

The respondent argues that Kansas law “allows a pharmacist to practice until
August 1%, without his license being declared void.”

Prior to July 1, 2014, K.S.A. 65-1632(f) provided, in pertinent part:

If the renewal fee for any pharmacist’s license has not been paid by
August 1 of the renewal year, the license is hereby declared void,
and no license shall be reinstated except upon payment of any
unpaid renewal fee plus a penalty fee fixed by the board as provided
in K.S.A. 65-1645, and amendments thereto, and proof satisfactory
to the board of compliance with the continuing education
requirements fixed by the board.

This statutory language had been interpreted to afford Kansas pharmacists a grace
period through July in which to submit a renewal application and renewal fee before their
license became inoperative. However, effective July 1, 2014, the Kansas Legislature
repealed, amended and re-enacted K.S.A. 65-1632(f) to eliminate the July grace period
for license renewal. See 2014 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 49, at §§ 3, 11.

The Board again concurs with the disciplinary counsel that from and after July 1,

2014, K.S.A. 65-1632(a) and (f) have unmistakably provided that any biennial pharmacy

license due for renewal or expiration no later than June 30, 2015 shall become void or
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inoperative (and is not temporarily renewed) if the licensee does not submit a renewal
application and renewal fee prior to expiration of the two-year licensure period (i.e., upon
the close of June 30, 2015).

Following the amendments to K.S.A. 65-1632 in 2014, the Board, both on it’s
website as well as in the May 2015 edition of Kansas State Board of Pharmacy News,
which is disseminated to licensees via email transmission, informed Kansas pharmacists
that there was not a grace period for CE hours and that they must be completed June 30,
2015.

Further, on August 3, 2015, the Board ruled in /n the Matter of Eugene
Capocasale, Case No. 14-174, OAH No.15BP0019 (Final Order, filed Aug. 3, 2015), that
there was not a 30 day grace period for completing the 30 hours of continuing education
required for license renewal. While the Capocasale is not published precedent, the Board
finds the factual and legal issues similar. The respondent has failed to provide any
argument, statute, rule, regulation, administrative decision or judicial authority that would
cause the Board to rule differently in this case than it did in Capocasale.

The undisputed evidence established that the respondent completed only 9.5 clock
hours of CE during the biennial licensure period of July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2015. He,
therefore, was 20.5 clock hours short of compliance by the June 30, 2015 deadline.

Order
Based on the foregoing, the respondent is assessed a fine in the amount of $2,100

($100 for each hour or partial hour of continuing education not completed by June 30,
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2015) and is required to complete 84 additional hours of continuing education (4 hours
for each hour or partial hour not completed by June 30, 2015) within 30 days or his
license will be placed on inactive status.

In addition, the costs of this proceeding are assessed against the respondent
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1627h. The amount of costs is $4,407.

Due to the amount of the costs, the respondent shall be given six months to make
full payment of the fine and costs due. The total fine and costs of $6,507 shall be due by

April 1, 2017.

ITIS SO ORDERED.
Date Chad Ullom, R.Ph.

President, Kansas Board of Pharmacy



NOTICES

This is a Final Order, and becomes effective upon service.

Within fifteen (15) days after service of the Final Order, any party may
file a Petition for Reconsideration pursuant to K.S.A. 77-529.

Either party to this agency proceeding may seek judicial review of the Final
Order by filing a timely petition in the District Court as authorized by
K.S.A. 77-613. Reconsideration of the Final Order is not a prerequisite to
judicial review. A petition for judicial review is not timely unless filed
within thirty (30) days following service of the Final Order.

A copy of any petition for judicial review must be served upon the Kansas
Board of Pharmacy. The agency officer designated to receive service of a
petition for judicial review is Alexandra Blasi, Executive Secretary, Kansas

Board of Pharmacy, 800 SW Jackson, Ste. 1414, Topeka, KS 66612-1244.



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

On jﬁ‘@’;ﬁw&/ CQ % , 2016, I mailed a copy of this document
to:

John Kollhoff, PharmD
1804 Faith Ave.
Abilene, KS 67410

Randall J. Forbes

Frieden, Unrein & Forbes
1414 SW Ashworth PI, Ste 201
Topeka, KS 66604

Alexandra Blasi

Executive Secretary

Kansas Board of Pharmacy
800 SW Jackson St., Ste. 1414
Topeka, KS 66612-1244

Staff Person



