Guidance for Standard Probationary Terms

Approved by Kansas State Board of Pharmacy: August 25, 2022

Last Updated: August 2, 2022

I. Purpose

a. The purpose of this guidance is to provide standard terms of probation in certain circumstances based on disciplinary action taken by the Board against licensees and registrants.

II. Statutory Authority

a. See K.S.A. 65-1627, 65-1627l, 65-1632, 65-1663, and 65-1676.

III. Guidance

- a. The following standard terms of probation shall apply to any licensee or registrant required to enroll in the KsPRN program for the period of the probation:
 - i. Immediately enter into a Statement of Understanding agreement with the Kansas Pharmacists Association ("KPhA") and the Committee on Impaired Pharmacy Practice ("CIPP") which operates the Kansas Pharmacist Recovery Network ("KsPRN") for a period of no less than five years.
 - ii. Fully cooperate with the recommendations and requirements of the persons managing and implementing the evaluation and treatment program recommended and requested by the KsPRN Agreement and the further requirements of the Board
 - iii. At all times, be in full compliance with the requirements of the KsPRN Agreement and other requirements placed upon the licensee or registrant by the KsPRN including, but not limited to, full and continued compliance with the requirement to cooperate with requests for drug screens and any recommended therapy as provided in the KsPRN Agreement.
 - iv. Maintain one year of clean tests for substances prior to seeking approval from the Board to return to pharmacy employment.
 - v. Authorize KsPRN and any provider of evaluation or treatment programs the licensee or registrant engages in to provide full and complete documentation and information regarding the licensee or registrant's involvement in the programs, including evaluations and treatment, including, but not limited to, records and medical reports.
 - vi. Not be allowed to be a PIC or preceptor until or unless recommended by the CIPP and approved by the Board.
 - vii. Obtain the signature of the licensee's or registrant's PIC documenting acknowledgement to the Board of the probationary status of the license or registration.
 - viii. Notify the Board of any change in pharmacy employment within 10 days of the change, including discontinuation of a position.
 - ix. Notify the Board of any arrest or criminal charge within 10 days of the date of the arrest or charge.
 - x. Comply fully with the Pharmacy Act of the state of Kansas, the Board's rules and regulations, and all state and federal laws relating to Kansas pharmacies.
- b. Except as specified in subsection a, the following standard terms of probation shall apply to any other licensee or registrant placed on probation for the entire period of probation:
 - i. Comply with the terms of any court-imposed sentence, diversion, probation, or other requirements;
 - ii. Notify the Board of any change in court status within 10 days of the change;

- iii. Notify the Board of any arrest or criminal charge within 10 days of the date of the arrest or charge;
- iv. Notify the Board of any change in employment within 10 days of the change;
- v. Inform employers of the probationary status of the Board license or registration;
- vi. Obtain the signature of the licensee's or registrant's pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) documenting acknowledgement to the Board of the probationary status of the license or registration; and
- vii. Comply with the Pharmacy Act of the State of Kansas and all rules and regulations thereunder.